Alysia Rissling

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Pilot
Height:180cm
Weight:77kg
Birth Date:Nov. 16, 1988 (age 30)
Birth Place:Edmonton
Residence:Edmonton
Twitter:@alysiairssling
Instagram:@rizzbobsleigh
Website:risslingbobsleigh.com

Alysia Rissling was destined to excel in high-performance sport. Growing up in Edmonton, Alysia was surrounded by a family full of hockey players. Her Godfather played in the NHL, her dad played pro in Europe, and her little bro was a standout with the Calgary Hitmen in the WHL before heading to the NHL’s farm system.

For Alysia, her competitive nature was found on the basketball court for five years at the University of Alberta until she caught wind of many track and field athletes being recruited to bobsleigh. Immediately interested in the sport, Alysia parked it in the back of her brain until she completed her scholarship and a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology degree. The following year, the idea of bobsleigh kept dominating her thoughts so she did try out for the provincial team. Next thing she knew her bags were packed and she moved south to Calgary eight weeks later.

Alysia’s progression in the sport has been steady since starting as a brakemen in 2012. She took to the driving seat the following year and is one of Canada’s top women’s pilots. Alysia had a standout rookie season on World Cup circuit two years ago as a pilot, winning the bronze medal at the World Cup test event in Pyeongchang. She returned to the Olympic Track in Korea as a member of the 2018 Canadian Olympic Team where she and Heather Moyse slid to sixth place.

When not mastering her trade on tracks around the world, Alysia is a natural athlete who boasted scholarships in basketball, track and field, soccer and volleyball. A self-described sports junkie, Alysia loves snowboarding, surfing, playing slo-pitch, beach volleyball and all watersports. When not playing, she’s watching hockey, football and baseball religiously. She is also a Fast and Female ambassador and Classroom Champions mentor.

Career Highlights

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 6
2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 5
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 4
2017 – World Cup, Pyeongchang, KOR: 3
2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 6
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 5
2016 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 4
2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 13
2015 – World Cup, Calgary: 11
- Six career North America’s Cup gold medals/total de six médailles d’or en Coupe nord-américaine‚Äč
- Overall points champion on the 2014-15 North America’s Cup /championne au classement général de Coupe nord-américaine 2014-15
- Second place in the 2015-16 overall North America’s Cup/vice-championne au classement général de Coupe nord-américaine 2015-16

Olympic Winter Games Results

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 6

World Championship Results

2019 – World Championships, Whistler, CAN: 11
2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 6
2017 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 13

 

World Cup Results

2019 – World Cup, Calgary, CAN: 7
2019 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 9
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 10
2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 5
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 4
2018 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 10
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 7
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 7
2017 – World Cup, Park City, USA: 7
2017 – World Cup, Pyeongchang, KOR: 3
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 9
2017 – World Cup, Winterberg, GER: 11
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 5
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 4

Alysia Rissling

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Pilot
Taille:180cm
Poids:77kg
Date de naissance:16 nov., 1988 (Âge 30)
Ville natale:Edmonton
Résidence:Edmonton
Twitter:@alysiairssling
Instagram:@rizzbobsleigh
Site web:risslingbobsleigh.com

Alysia Rissling était destinée à devenir une athlète d’élite. Durant son enfance à Edmonton, Alysia s’entourait de toute une famille qui respirait le hockey. Son parrain a joué dans la LNH, son papa a joué dans une ligue professionnelle en Europe, et son frère cadet a été un joueur vedette avec les Calgary Hitmen de la WHL avant d’entrer dans le système de clubs-écoles de la LNH.

Pour ce qui est d’Alysia, le basketball a été son premier sport, et elle y a joué pendant cinq ans à l’Université de l’Alberta. C’était pendant ce temps-là qu’elle a appris que bon nombre d’athlètes d’athlétisme faisaient l’objet d’une campagne de recrutement pour le bobsleigh. Tandis que cette perspective l’intéressait, Alysia a laissé mijoter l’idée jusqu’à ce qu’elle a complété son diplôme en sciences avec spécialisation en kinésiologie. L’année suivante, cette notion de bobsleigh lui est revenue en tête à plusieurs reprises, donc elle a décidé de participer aux essais de l’équipe provinciale. Huit semaines plus tard, elle avait plié bagage et déménagé à Calgary pour amorcer sa nouvelle carrière sur la piste de glace.

Alysia a poursuivi un développement constant depuis ses débuts comme freineuse en 2012. Elle a pris la barre comme pilote l’année suivante et présentement elle s’est affirmée comme une des meilleures pilotes au Canada en bobsleigh féminin. Alysia s’est surpassée à sa première saison en tant que pilote au circuit de Coupe du monde; elle a gagné la médaille de bronze à l’évènement d’essai de Coupe du monde sur la piste olympique de Pyeong-Chang. Elle est retournée à cette piste coréenne en tant que membre de l’équipe olympique canadienne des Jeux de 2018, où elle et Heather Moyse ont obtenu le sixième rang au classement.

Quand elle ne glisse pas, cette grande sportive continue à pratiquer les sports qui lui ont valu des bourses d’études au fil des années : le basketball, l’athlétisme, le soccer et le volleyball. Elle aime aussi la planche à neige, le surf, la balle lente, le volleyball de plage et tous les sports aquatiques. Si elle n’est pas en train de jouer, elle est collée à la télé, en regardant le hockey, le football ou le baseball. Elle est fière d’être ambassadrice de Rapides et Radieuses et mentor avec Classroom Champions.

Meilleurs en carrière

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 6
2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 5
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 4
2017 – World Cup, Pyeongchang, KOR: 3
2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 6
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 5
2016 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 4
2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 13
2015 – World Cup, Calgary: 11
- Six career North America’s Cup gold medals/total de six médailles d’or en Coupe nord-américaine​
- Overall points champion on the 2014-15 North America’s Cup /championne au classement général de Coupe nord-américaine 2014-15
- Second place in the 2015-16 overall North America’s Cup/vice-championne au classement général de Coupe nord-américaine 2015-16

Résultats de Jeux Olympiques d’hiver

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 6

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 6
2017 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 13

 

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 5
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 4
2018 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 10
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 7
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 7
2017 – World Cup, Park City, USA: 7
2017 – World Cup, Pyeongchang, KOR: 3
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 9
2017 – World Cup, Winterberg, GER: 11
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 5
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 4